Philippe Van Parijs

Director of the Hoover Chair of economic and social ethics, University of Louvain (UCL), Fellow of Nuffield College (Oxford)

Philippe Van Parijs studied philosophy, law, political economy, sociology and linguistics at the Facultés universitaires Saint Louis (Brussels) and the Universities of Louvain, Oxford, Bielefeld and California (Berkeley). He holds doctorates in the social sciences (Louvain, 1977) and in philosophy (Oxford, 1980).

He is professor at the Faculty of economic, social and political sciences of the University of Louvain (UCL), where he has directed the Hoover Chair of economic and social ethics since its creation in 1991. He has also been a special guest professor at the KU Leuven's Higher Institute for Philosophy since 2006. From 2004 onwards he was for several years a Regular Visiting Professor of Philosophy at Harvard University. And from 2011 onwards, he is a Senior Research Fellow at Nuffield College and Visiting Professor at the University of Oxford.

He also held visiting positions at the Universities of Amsterdam, Manchester, Siena, Québec (Montréal), Wisconsin (Madison), Maine (Orono), Uruguay (Montevideo) and Aix-Marseille, the European University Institute (Florence), the Russian Academy of Sciences (Moscow), the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (Beijing), the Catholic Faculties of Kinshasa (Congo), All Souls College (Oxford), Yale University, Sciences Po (Paris), the Autonomous University of Barcelona and the Ecole normale supérieure (Paris). He was awarded an honorary doctorate by Laval University (Québec). He is one of the founders of the Basic Income European Network (BIEN), which became in 2004 the Basic Income Earth Network, and he chairs its International Board. He organizes the annual Ethical Forum of the University Foundation and chairs the steering committee of the programme on Poverty and Social Justice of the King Baudouin Foundation. He coordinates, jointly with Kris Deschouwer, the Pavia Group, which pleads for the creation of a country-wide electoral district in federal Belgium.

He is a Fellow of the British Academy and a member of Belgium's Royal Academy of Sciences, Letters and Fine Arts and of the European Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 2001, he was awarded the Francqui Prize, Belgium's most generous scientific prize, and in 2011 the Arkprijs voor het Vrije Woord , an annual prize meant to honour public personalities who illustrate the freedom to speak out. In 2007, a post stamp was devoted to him within the framework of a series ("This is Belgium") featuring nine outstanding Belgian scholars.