Herman Van Rompuy

President Emeritus of the European Council; former Prime Minister of Belgium

Herman Van Rompuy is the Chair of the Advisory Group of the New Pact for Europe. He is also EPC’s President since 2015.

Elected as the first full-time President of the European Council in November 2009, Herman Van Rompuy took office when the Lisbon Treaty came into force on 1 December 2009. In 2012, he was re-elected for a second term starting on 1 June 2012 and running until 30 November 2014. 

At the time of his first election, Herman Van Rompuy was Prime Minister of Belgium. A former economist at the National Bank of Belgium, he began his political career in 1973 as national vice-president of his party's youth council, before holding various responsibilities within his party and in the Belgian Parliament and government, serving in turn as Senator (1988-1995), Secretary of State for Finance and Small Businesses (1988), Vice-Prime Minister and Minister of Budget (1993-1999), Member of Parliament (1995-2009), Minister of State (2004), and Speaker of the House of Representatives (2007-2008). 

Herman Van Rompuy holds a Bachelor's degree in Philosophy, and a Master's degree in Applied Economics from the university K.U. Leuven.